The Real Problem with Society: We Have No Grit

Cameron Lee Cowan
9 min readJul 16, 2023

Several months ago I was sent this video from my Mom, of all people, and it was from a YouTube doctor that I got her to follow because I thought his ideas about the pandemic were really spot on. I watched it and I was stunned. If you want to watch first and come back you can but I will do my best to quickly summarize the video as the article continues.

In this video, he goes over what he calls the Three Great Untruths and why people are more miserable for not understanding how the world really works. He bases this on the book, “The Coddling of the American Mind” by George Lukianoff and Jonathan Haidt (whom I adore). In this book, they argue that we are breaking down civilization because we believe in these great untruths and we are simply becoming too soft and too fragile. Is the real problem that we just lack “resilience” and “grit?” According to Lukianoff and Haidt, yes. Zdogg jumps into the conversation by adding in how our performance and attitude during the pandemic (you can never get this disease) is emblematic of the modern idea around these great untruths.

Untruth 1: What doesn’t kill you makes you weaker? Or does it?

--

--

Cameron Lee Cowan

Creative Director of The Cameron Journal. Culture, political commentary, and much more!